Press "Enter" to skip to content

Sports Brief: April 21

Eagle Update


The Oklahoma Christian University men’s golf team won the Lone Star Conference championship for the second time on Wednesday afternoon, sweeping both rounds of match play.

The Eagles played against Cameron University in the semifinals. The semifinals and finals were medal match plays with strokes rather than holes determining the winner. OC won the medal match 4-0-1, with all four victories coming by two strokes or more.

Alejandro Armijo fought his way to a tie in a back-and-forth encounter which came down to the last hole. Armijo tied his opponent at one under.

Oskari Nikku won by four strokes, shooting a 73 (+1) to defeat his opponent. 

Exequiel Rodriguez won his match by two strokes after shooting a 74 (+2).

Mateo Pulcini fired a perfect 68 (-4) to win his match by four strokes, while Santiago Villareal won by eight strokes.

The Eagles’ win was followed by the LSC Player of the Year award being awarded to Exequiel Rodriguez. Head coach David Lynn was also selected as the LSC Coach of the Year. In addition, Rodriguez (first team/all-academic), Armijo (first team/all-academic), Pulcini (second team), and Nikku (second team) were named to All-Conference teams.


Jones and Heiselbetz remained on a hot streak when the Eagles challenged Eastern New Mexico University in the series finale.

The Greyhounds jumped out to a 4-0 lead in the bottom of the first round on three hits and an error.

In the top of the second inning, OC cut the lead in half by scoring two runs on four walks and a hit by pitch. Hank Heiselbetz and Connor Jackson both walked in RBIs, giving Heiselbetz at least one RBI in each game of the series for a total of seven.

Naut Kragt settled in after the first inning and held ENMU scoreless for the next three.

Connor Jackson and Marcus Johnson each worked walks, allowing Hunter Jones to tie the game with a two-RBI double.

ENMU responded in the bottom half, seizing the lead they would retain with a two-run home run.

Track and field

Oklahoma Christian track and field competed in the Bryan Clay Invitational in Azusa, California, the Sooner Invitational and Multis at the University of Oklahoma and the Southwestern Christian Paul Parent Invite.

At the Bryan Clay Invitational, Bryah Davis finished 21st in the 100m with a time of 11.87.

Verrell McBride finished 16th in the men’s 100m with a timing of 10.61. McBride also finished eighth in the 200m with an NCAA provisional time of 21.20.

Wyatt Thiel cleared 2.02m in the men’s High Jump to finish sixth.

In the Sooner Invitational, Torrion Montgomery won the Long Jump with an NCAA provisional qualifying mark of 7.56, and Chaney Martin won the Decathlon with 6781 points.

The Paul Parent Invite saw Torrion Montgomery win the 200m in 22.35 seconds and the High Jump in 2.04 meters, both NCAA provisional qualifying marks.

Austin McNair won the 800m in 2:01.81 seconds, with teammates Lucas Forman and Landon Ellis finishing third and sixth respectively.

Tegan Arega won the 1500m in 4:09.31, followed by Colten Brown (second) and Griffin Chesire (fourth).

Arega also won the 5000m in 15:41.04.

Stacy Smith won the Long Jump and Triple Jump with distances of 6.71m and 12.67m respectively.

Kameron Shropshire won the Discus, Hammer, and Javelin with throws of 12.67m, 35.55m, and 33.09m respectively.

Brooke Latham (2:32.71) and Hope Fletcher (2:37.08) finished fourth and sixth in the 800m respectively.

Caroline Karr and Jacinda Kwambai finished first and second in the 5000m respectively.

Ruth Oguntope won the 400 Hurdles with a time of 1:13.83, while she finished second in the Triple Jump with a jump of 10.27m.

Caitlyn Windell finished sixth in Shot Put, while Leah Oguntope finished fourth.

In Discus, Nikkita Addy, Madison Gauthier, and Taelor Brown finished second, fifth and sixth respectively. Brown also won the Hammer with a throw of 44.58.


Following an exciting Play-In Tournament, 16 teams have advanced to the postseason with hopes of hoisting the Larry O’Brien Trophy in June.

All playoff series are best-of-seven, with the higher seed having the  home-court advantage. Games one, two, five and seven are hosted by the higher seed, while Games three, four, and six are hosted by the lower.

Listed below are the updated scores:


No. 1 Milwaukee Bucks vs. No. 8 Miami Heat

Game 1: Heat 130, Bucks 117 (MIA leads 1-0)

Game 2: Bucks 128, Heat 122 (Series tied 1-1)

No. 2 Boston Celtics vs. No. 7 Atlanta Hawks

Game 1: Celtics 112, Hawks 99 (BOS leads 1-0)

Game 2: Celtics 119, Hawks 106 (BOS leads 2-0)

No. 3 Philadelphia 76ers vs. No. 6 Brooklyn Nets

Game 1: Sixers 121, Nets 101 (PHI leads 1-0)

Game 2: Sixers 96, Nets 84 (PHI leads 2-0)

No. 4 Cleveland Cavaliers vs. No. 5 New York Knicks

Game 1: Knicks 101, Cavaliers 97 (NYK leads 1-0)

Game 2: Cavaliers 109, Knicks 90 (Series tied 1-1)


No. 1 Denver Nuggets vs. No. 8 Minnesota Timberwolves

Game 1: Nuggets 109, Timberwolves 80 (DEN leads 1-0)

Game 2: Nuggets 122, Timberwolves 113 (DEN leads 2-0)

No. 2 Memphis Grizzlies vs. No. 7 Los Angeles Lakers

Game 1: Lakers 128, Grizzlies 112 (LAL leads 1-0)

Game 2: Grizzlies 103, Lakers 93 (Series tied 1-1)

No. 3 Sacramento Kings vs. No. 6 Golden State Warriors

Game 1: Kings 126, Warriors 123 (SAC leads 1-0)

Game 2: Kings 114, Warriors 106 (SAC leads 2-0)

No. 4 Phoenix Suns vs. No. 5 Los Angeles Clippers

Game 1: Clippers 115, Suns 110 (LAC leads 1-0)

Game 2: Suns 123, Clippers 109 (Series tied 1-1)

Email this to someonePrint this pageShare on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn0

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *